School Closures

Calendar for year 2017/2018

Calendar 17 18

 

These are not finalised by the Department of Education & Skills

Hallowe’en Break 2017

The school will close on Friday, 27th October 2017 and reopen on Monday, 6th November 2017. (5 school days)

Christmas 2017

The school will close on Friday, 22nd December 2017, this will be a half day and re-open on Monday 8th January 2018. (10 school days)

February 2018 mid-term break

The school be closed from Thursday, 15th February to Friday, 16th February 2018. (2 school days)

All primary schools will close on Thursday, 15th February 2018 and Friday, 16th February 2018.  (Primary schools may use 3 discretionary days to extend this break to an alternative option of a 5 day break for the period from Monday 12th February 2018 to Friday, 16th February 2018 inclusive, unless changes are required as part of contingency arrangements to make up for time lost to unforeseen school closures.)

St. Patrick’s Day 2018

The school will be closed on Monday, 19th March 2018 and reopen on Tuesday, 20th March 2018. (1 school day)

Easter 2018

The school will close on Friday, 23rd March 2018 and reopen Monday, 9th April 2018.  All school will close on Friday, 23rd March 2018, which will be the final day of the school term (10 school days), unless changes are required as part of the contingency arrangements to make up for time lost due to unforeseen school closures.  Where contingency arrangements are required a school authority may reduce the length of the Easter break by remaining open up to and including Wednesday, 28th March 2018.  All schools will re-open on Monday,

9th April 2018.

May Bank Holiday 2018

The school will close on Friday, 4th May 2018 and reopen Monday, 14th May 2018. (5 school days)

June Bank Holiday 2018

The school will close on Friday, 1st June 2018 and reopen Monday, 5th June 2018.  (1 school day)

Summer Holidays 2018

The school will close on Friday, 29th June 2018 for the summer holidays, this will be a half day.

Contingency Arrangements

Where the measures are not considered adequate, contingency arrangements to make up for time lost due to extensive or prolonged unforeseen school closures may now also include either or both of the following:

  • The February mid-term break school may be open subject to the requirement that all schools must be closed on the Thursday and Friday of the week in which this break falls.
  • The Easter break may be reduced by up to three days by the school remaining open up to and including the Wednesday immediately preceding the Easter weekend. All schools must be closed on the Thursday and Friday immediately preceding the Easter weekend and remain closed for the remainder of the Easter break.

Comments are closed.